Book Review–Rumble by Ellen Hopkins

rumble

One of my favorite authors while I was in high school was Ellen Hopkins.  I stayed up-to-date with all of her books as they came out, anticipating her next release.  That continued into college, but the last few years while I was in my reading funk, I haven’t read anything by her.  So when I was perusing http://www.bookoutlet.com and saw a book by her that I’ve never seen before, I knew I had to get it.

Rumble follows Matt, a teenager who only a few months ago lost his brother Luke, when he committed suicide.  Luke had come out as gay and their conservative town had a hard time accepting it, he faced bullies not only from fellow students but also adults within the town and from his own parents.  His father, a basketball playing jock, couldn’t believe he had raised such a “pussy” as he puts it.  His mother who up until that point never mentioned religion much, suddenly played the saint.  Luke found himself at his breaking point and killed himself, and it devastated Matt.  Now, months after his death, Matt finds himself minus a few friends (those who helped contribute to Luke’s bullying); angry; and missing his brother and best friend.  As the story continues, Matt realizes that he and his girlfriend’s relationship isn’t as strong as he thought it was, people he thought he could trust, he couldn’t, and that no matter what anybody in town says, he can’t believe in a god that would allow his brother to have been abused as he was ultimately leading him to kill himself.

This book, like all of Ellen Hopkins’ books, is a brutally honest look at life and how different people react to things as tragic as suicide.  The book touches on a variety of different issues such as suicide, LGBT issues, abuse, PTSD, anxiety, depression.  The story, like all of her stories, is sad but real and honest.  It shows a struggle with faith that I think is very relatable to a lot of people because his lack of faith deals with the loss he has felt from his brother’s death.  I will say it is not my favorite Ellen Hopkins book, but I still really enjoyed it, but if you’re a first time reader of hers, I highly recommend either Tricks or Triangles or Crank, those are definitely my top three favorites by her.

About MindyGrimmBlogs

I'm a 20 something enthusiast of all things geek. I live in Pittsburgh, PA and work as a banker during the day. At night I geek out in a variety of different ways whether it be playing board games, video games, seeing movies, reading books, buying comics and collectibles, or anything else that strikes my fancy. This space is going to be a place for me to share my views and reviews and hopefully connect with others who enjoy such things as well. If you would like to contact me for anything regarding reviewing a book or anything like that, my email is mindygrimm19@gmail.com.
This entry was posted in Book Review and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Book Review–Rumble by Ellen Hopkins

  1. I finished Tricks a few days ago… it was really sad, but the book was incredibly written (and that’s the first poetry book I’ve read). It opened my eyes as to why some teenagers resort to do jobs like those…

    Liked by 1 person

    • MindyGrimmBlogs says:

      I don’t really think any of her books are very happy, even if by the end things sort of work out, but that’s what I love about them, they’re honest. Sometimes you read a book and it’s like some modern day fairytail and not that that’s not necessarily a bad thing, but it’s not exactly real life, and thats what I love about her, she writes about things that happen on a daily basis to real people, things that matter.

      Liked by 1 person

      • Totally agree with you right there. I think I might add Ellen Hopkins’ books on my TBR pile right now… She writes very good and we can really feel her words. It might also leave us a lesson or two, appreciation on our life, and new found compassion to others.

        Liked by 1 person

      • MindyGrimmBlogs says:

        I completely agree and I think she does a wonderful job of making her books incredibly relatable, even if you’re not going through the same struggles as the characters, you can still relate in some way. Her stuff is just powerful and I love that it sheds light on issues that are sometimes seen as taboo to talk about.

        Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

