A book that’s under 150 pages–The Hogwarts Library

16177185

So I’m kind of cheating with this one, because technically this is three separate books that are all under 150 pages each, but these were just so sweet and magical and cute, I had to do them for this review.  This is The Hogwarts Library collection and with it comes three books:  Fantastic Beasts & Where to Find Them, Quidditch Through the Ages, and The Tales of Beedle the Bard.  So these books actually came out a few years ago and they were created so that they could be sold and the proceeds could go to two charities, Lumos, which is the charity J.K. Rowling founded herself to help underprivileged children, and Comic Relief, which is a charity devoted to helping those in poverty.  I find this to be absolutely wonderful, to use this series to give back to the community is a beautiful thing and I love to see the Harry Potter universe bring even more love into the world then it already has.  This set is so adorable, I ended up purchasing The Hogwarts Library set (pictured above) and I do want to say that I did purchase the paperback version but received the hardcover set, so I’m not sure if maybe there is no paperback set and it was just a mistake on the website or if I just got lucky.  It is a beautiful addition to a bookshelf, right next to the original seven books!

Fantastic Beasts & Where to Find Them:

So I honestly thought I was going to like this one best and out of the three it was actually my least favorite (I love all three of them though, it’s just I liked the other two a little bit more).  This book starts out with explaining the history of beasts and how the laws have changed over the years in the wizarding world, and then the other part of the book is filled with brief descriptions of over 80 different beasts, some of which come from real mythology.  The book itself is based off the textbook that was mentioned within the original series, which was a required textbook for students and also considered a handy book to have around the house.  The copy, itself, is actually Harry Potter’s copy and so found within the pages are funny annotations made by Harry Potter, Ronald Weasley, and Hermione Granger.  The book is a lot of fun and actually quite interesting, mythology is something that has always fascinated me and so I really enjoyed the beasts that were based on real mythological creatures.

The Tales of Beedle the Bard:

This was second on my list in order of favoritism.  This is a book of fairy tales created by Beedle, which are similar to Muggle fairytales, except in these stories, unlike Muggle tales, the characters who use magic are not necessarily the bad ones.  It is incredibly cute and after each tale there are a few pages of notes by Dumbledore on the tales themselves, talking not only of his opinion of each tale, but also some history behind them, including times where the tales being banned had been attempted and notes on retellings of some of the tales.  My favorite of the tales is “The Tale of the Three Brothers” but I’m partial to that due to the connection to the original series.

Quidditch Through the Ages:

This book actually ended up being my favorite of the three, which was quite a surprise to me, as I really thought it was going to be of least interest to me.  Although I find the game of quidditch fun and exciting, I’m not someone who is into sports, so I honestly didn’t think this would hold my attention as well, but I immediately became immersed into the history and felt like I was reading something that was a real history novel.  The book starts with the origins of quidditch and explains how it evolved over the years and different changes, rules, and regulations that came about.  It also talks about some of the most famous teams, including those from other countries.  This book is modeled after the frequently sought after library book from Hogwarts and has a very adorable front page which displays a warning from the librarian Irma Pince that had me laughing for far longer then really necessary.

All-in-all, this is a wonderful collection to add to your shelf if you are a Harry Potter fan.  Each of the books are just so adorable in their own way, and very unique and genuinely interesting.  These just tugged at my heart and made me want to re-read the Harry Potter series very much, so I’m probably going to be doing that soon.  I just really can’t say enough good things about this little collection.

 

 

About MindyGrimmBlogs

I'm a 20 something enthusiast of all things geek. I live in Pittsburgh, PA and work as a banker during the day. At night I geek out in a variety of different ways whether it be playing board games, video games, seeing movies, reading books, buying comics and collectibles, or anything else that strikes my fancy. This space is going to be a place for me to share my views and reviews and hopefully connect with others who enjoy such things as well. If you would like to contact me for anything regarding reviewing a book or anything like that, my email is mindygrimm19@gmail.com.
This entry was posted in 2016 Reading Challenge, Book Review, Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

