E.X.O.: The Legend of Wale Williams–Chapters 1-7

51MfE1+7+-L._SX326_BO1,204,203,200_

Another fun find on Kindle Unlimited, I was searching for more comics/graphic novels to check out when I stumbled upon this one and I am happy I did.

E.X.O.: The Legend of Wale Williams, starts out introducing us to Wale, five years previously, and his family.  His father, a workaholic scientist, who works for a major company known as Prytek, decides to continue his work on a project, at home alone with Wale’s help in order to keep it from Prytek, whom he believes has been corrupted.  A horrible accident happens, partially due to his father’s recklessness, and they lose someone very close to them.  Wale, blaming his father, decides to leave town and not look back but five years later, Wale’s father has gone missing and Wale decides to go home to help his brother Timi, and hopefully find their father.  But when Wale comes home, he learns that things aren’t how he left them, and a rebel force is trying to take over, killing innocent people.  Wale then has to decide whether he can take his father’s research and provide the world with the hero it needs or whether he should leave things to the authorities.

So this is a very neat story with a very different setting then I’ve ever seen in a graphic novel, which is a futuristic Nigeria.  The story takes place in the year 2025, in a semi-well off area in Africa, though not all areas are as well off as others.  There’s definitely a lot of political statements that are made that can definitely apply to life now in a variety of different countries, including the United States.  One of the things that is made clear, is the middle class is diminishing and the lower income areas are becoming more populated and more violent; something that we can definitely relate to in America as well as many other countries across the world.

The story is a fun little origin story.  The volume that I read is actually Part One which includes Chapters 1-7; I did see on the publishers website that Part Two is set to come out on July 13th of this year which is very exciting and will include Chapters 8-15, and they will also being selling a whole edition of Chapters 1-15.  I really want to get my hands on a physical copy of this now so it is definitely on my list.  The story is interesting and sad and action packed and just kind of the perfect origin story.  The artwork is also really great.  I did, while researching, find a trailer that was made for the graphic novel which is really cool and can be found here.  I highly recommend checking the trailer out and then getting the graphic novel!  I think this would really be a neat thing to be adapted whether it be a movie or a animated series, but either way I would love to see that in the future for this series.

About MindyGrimmBlogs

I'm a 20 something enthusiast of all things geek. I live in Pittsburgh, PA and work as a banker during the day. At night I geek out in a variety of different ways whether it be playing board games, video games, seeing movies, reading books, buying comics and collectibles, or anything else that strikes my fancy. This space is going to be a place for me to share my views and reviews and hopefully connect with others who enjoy such things as well. If you would like to contact me for anything regarding reviewing a book or anything like that, my email is mindygrimm19@gmail.com.
This entry was posted in Book Review, Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

