Intergalactic Book Tag

So I found another fun book tag to do!  This one I saw a number of booktubers and bloggers do and thought it was a lot of fun and there’s some different categories on here from a lot of the other tags out there.

1. Space:  Name a book that is out of this world–that take place in a world different from our own.

For this I had to choose Miss Peregrine’s Peculiar Children series.  Although the series does take place on Earth and whatnot, it takes place on other planes of existence during different time periods.  If you have not read this series, it is fantastic.  I, myself, have only read the first two books (but I’ve heard amazing things about the third) but I am waiting to read the third book for a little while because I’m just not ready for the series to end!

2. Black Hole:  Name a book that completely sucked you in.

This would definitely have to be Ready Player One.  I could not put that book down!  I just wanted to keep reading it forever.  It was so interesting and fun and different.

3. Lightspeed:  Name a book you are anticipating so much that you wish you could travel at lightspeed to get to it.

So this would definitely be Poor Unfortunate Soul:  A Tale of the Sea Witch.  This story comes out in July and I just can not wait!  It is a retelling of Ursula the sea witch’s tale from The Little Mermaid.  The author, Serena Valentino, wrote another novel that I love Fairest of All which is the story of the evil queen from Snow White and she also wrote a story based on Beast (aka Adam) from Beauty and the Beast, which I am actually waiting for in the mail!  The Little Mermaid is one of my all time favorite Disney movies and Ursula is my favorite villain! 

4. Nebula:  Name a book with a beautiful cover.

So this is actually an omnibus of comics that I’m talking about, but definitely the omnibus of Wormwood Gentleman Corpse by Ben Templesmith.  Templesmith is my all time favorite comic book author/illustrator and his work is always macabre and creepy, but that is something that is right up my alley.  This is such a great series too, very funny and interesting, gory and action packed, and just plain wonderful.

5.  Multiverse:  Name a companion set or spinoff series that you love.

This was a very easy choice, the Infernal Devices by Cassandra Clare.  This is my all time favorite trilogy.  I love these novels, which are the prequels to The Mortal Instruments series, even more then I like the Mortal Instruments.  The books are just so great and the characters are even better in this series.  Plus, major bonus, it takes place in Victorian London and has themes of steampunk throughout.  

6.  Gravity:  Name your favorite romantic pairing that seems to have a gravitational pull to each other.

So despite the ending I’m going to have to say Augustus and Grace from The Fault in Our Stars, just because they have such a sweet little romance and they’re just so drawn to one another.  They’re just such a sweet couple and the ending kills me every time. 

7.  The Big Bang:  Name the book that got you started on reading.

My parents always encouraged me to read when I was younger so I was constantly reading all sorts of things.  Some of the first series that I really fell in love with and introduced me to more diverse worlds, however, would include the Harry Potter series (of course), The Series of Unfortunate Events series, the Darren Shan saga, and more.  

8.  Asteroid:  Name a short story or novella that you love.

For this I chose, Quidditch Through the Ages by J.K. Rowling.  This is one of the short novellas that Rowling wrote based on books from the Harry Potter series.  There was a three book collection that she released which included this and two others and this was surprisingly my favorite.  If you are a Harry Potter fan, definitely check these out though, they are very cute.

9.  Galaxy:  Name a book with multiple POVs.

Six of Crows is a book I actually just recently finished and loved with multiple POVs.  The book switches between five different characters and is really a lot of fun.  It is all about the group as they go to pull off an impossible heist and is just a lot of fun and very interesting.  It takes place in a Russian themed mythology-type world which is really cool.

10.  Spaceship:  Name a book title that would be a great name for a spaceship.  

For this I’m going to go with Mockingjay.  I don’t know why but that kind of sounds like a cool ship name to me!

About MindyGrimmBlogs

I'm a 20 something enthusiast of all things geek. I live in Pittsburgh, PA and work as a banker during the day. At night I geek out in a variety of different ways whether it be playing board games, video games, seeing movies, reading books, buying comics and collectibles, or anything else that strikes my fancy. This space is going to be a place for me to share my views and reviews and hopefully connect with others who enjoy such things as well. If you would like to contact me for anything regarding reviewing a book or anything like that, my email is mindygrimm19@gmail.com.
This entry was posted in Book Tags, Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

