New York Times by the book tag!

So I am off work for most of the week due to illness and keep finding all these fun little tags to do, so here is yet another one.

1.  What book is on your nightstand now?

So I actually have two books that I am currently reading on my nightstand and that is The Raven Boys and Harry Potter and the Sorcerer’s Stone the illustrated edition.  This is my fourth or fifth time re-reading Harry Potter, but the first time reading the illustrated version.  It is just so beautiful, it is everything I could have ever asked for in an illustrated version.  It just brings the magic to life even more then the book already did and the illustrations, by Jim Kay, are just absolutely stunning.  The Raven Boys I started yesterday and am a little over 100 pages into it and honestly don’t know how I feel about it just yet.  The story is interesting so far but there’s just something about the characters and the writing style that I’m just not in love with.

2. What was the last truly great book that you read?

Well one of the best books that I read this year was Hollow City by Ransom Riggs, the second novel in the Miss Peregrine’s Peculiar Children series.  I thought the book was just so beautifully done and was truly masterful in the way it continued the story.

3. If you could meet any writer — dead or alive — who would it be? And what would you want to know?

This is super easy.  Edgar Allen Poe, I love his work so much and honestly I don’t know what I would ask, I would just love to have a conversation with him, I feel like it would be the most interesting conversation I’ve ever had in my life.

4. What books might we be surprised to find on your shelves?

Although I don’t really identify as any sort of religion, I do have a lot of New Age/Pagan/Wiccan novels.  I find the history and practice to be fascinating and of any major religion out there Wicca seems to definitely be the most nature centric and most harmless in terms of violence caused due to the religion.  One of my biggest issues with most major religions of the world, is that these religions are used to crucify people who are different and spread fear and un-acceptance and that’s just something I’m not okay with.  But Wicca seems to be the opposite of that where it seems to celebrate differences and work to draw people together or practice alone depending on one’s preferences and it’s really a beautiful religion in my opinion. 

5. How do you organize your personal library?

I really don’t, my book shelf is just organized by series but other then that it’s just kind of thrown together, maybe one day I’ll organize it more deeply but I really don’t feel the need to right now.

6. What book have you always meant to read and haven’t gotten around to yet?  Anything you feel embarrassed never to have read?

I have been meaning to read the Percy Jackson series for quite sometime, I’ve heard so many amazing things and I plan to pick up the first one soon!  I’m not embarrassed for having not read anything but I would like to read more classic literature.

7.  Disappointing, overrated, just not good; what book did you feel you were supposed to like but didn’t?  Do you remember the last book you put down without finishing?

The most disappointing book I have read this year was This is Where it Ends.  I had such high hopes for this book and I just hated every minute of it, however, I did finish it.  The last book I can remember attempting to read but putting down very quickly after picking it up is The Catcher in the Rye.  This is another book I have heard amazing things about but I just can’t stand the writing style and it was ruining the whole book for me.

8.  What kinds of stories are you drawn to?  Any you stay clear of?

I am typically drawn to fantasy, horror, and sci fi but I really will read anything.  There’s nothing I really stay clear of, I just don’t typically pick up contemporary or romance novels.

9.  If you could require the president to read one book, what would it be?

So I really had a hard time thinking of a book for this one for some reason but I guess I would choose Les Miserables, mostly because the book deals with a lot of political and social issues/themes like poverty and overbearing governments.  Another book that is newer and certainly is not quite so serious but still makes some wonderful commentary would be Ready Player One.  This book really kind of shows where America could really be heading if it continues on the path it is on.  Corporation takeover, wars, extreme poverty and overpopulation, severe pollution, so many of these things are already occurring and if we don’t change our ways, this story could very well come to life. 

10. What do you plan to read next?

I have three more books that I am hoping to finish in the month of April and they are Throne of Glass, Democracy in Black, and Sabriel.  Throne of Glass is a very popular fantasy novel that follows a girl who is an assassin and I have heard amazing things about it.  Democracy in Black is a nonfiction novel that talks about how African Americans are still very much underprivileged in America and how the color of one’s skin still impacts ones treatment.  This sounds like a really interesting read and I feel like, although, this applies to African Americans specifically that a lot of the same sentiments can reflect the treatment of other minority groups in America such as Mexicans, Middle Eastern people, women, and the LGBTQIA community.  And Sabriel is another fantasy novel, my best friend and I have decided to do a book swap every month or every other month or so where we give each other one of our favorite books to read and this is what he gave me this month.  Garth Nix is one of his most favorite authors and I believe this is his favorite book.  

About MindyGrimmBlogs

I'm a 20 something enthusiast of all things geek. I live in Pittsburgh, PA and work as a banker during the day. At night I geek out in a variety of different ways whether it be playing board games, video games, seeing movies, reading books, buying comics and collectibles, or anything else that strikes my fancy. This space is going to be a place for me to share my views and reviews and hopefully connect with others who enjoy such things as well. If you would like to contact me for anything regarding reviewing a book or anything like that, my email is mindygrimm19@gmail.com.
This entry was posted in Book Tags, Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

