A Graphic Novel: Wytches Volume One Review

Wytches_Vol1-1

I have really been in a comic/graphic novel mood lately and this was one of the ones that I have been wanting to read for sometime now.  This is the first volume which includes chapters 1-6, I do believe there is going to be a volume two but I could not find anything on a release date for it other then 2016.

The story follows a family (a husband, wife, and their daughter Sail) who move to New Hampshire to try to start over after a horrific event happens to their daughter.  Sail has always been an anxious child but after what happened she’s been even worse.  The family tries to start over but then strange things start happening and Sail believes they have to do with what happened and thinks it’s all her fault.  It gets worse when Sail is kidnapped and her father is forced to try to save his daughter, especially when the police department don’t seem to be taking things too seriously.  As he works to find and save his daughter, he realizes that he really can’t trust anyone, even someone very close to him.

This series is dark and ominous and eerie and surprisingly deals a good bit with mental illness.  Sail seems to suffer from anxiety and post traumatic stress disorder; while, in flashbacks, you can see her father has dealt with his own issues of anxiety and depression.  The story is really interesting, it of course has to do with wytches, but these are an evil, and ancient kind.  The artwork is really quite stunning, it’s exactly what I look for in a horror series.  It’s dark and sometimes gory and just beautiful.  All-in-all I really enjoy this series so far and look forward to volume two when that eventually comes out.

About MindyGrimmBlogs

I'm a 20 something enthusiast of all things geek. I live in Pittsburgh, PA and work as a banker during the day. At night I geek out in a variety of different ways whether it be playing board games, video games, seeing movies, reading books, buying comics and collectibles, or anything else that strikes my fancy. This space is going to be a place for me to share my views and reviews and hopefully connect with others who enjoy such things as well. If you would like to contact me for anything regarding reviewing a book or anything like that, my email is mindygrimm19@gmail.com.
This entry was posted in 2016 Reading Challenge, Book Review, Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to A Graphic Novel: Wytches Volume One Review

  1. Nancy says:

    This book looks very intriguing, and as I blog about graphic novels, it looks right up my alley!

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Nancy says:

    Some other dark GN’s I have read recently are Revival, Beautiful Darkness (reviewed both) and Locke & Key (will review soon). https://graphicnovelty2.com/

    Liked by 1 person

    • MindyGrimmBlogs says:

      That Revival sounds really good, I’ll have to check it out. They all sound interesting though, I’m pretty sure I’ve read Locke and Key because the description sounds really familiar.

      Like

Leave a Reply

