A book that is guaranteed to bring you joy–Harry Potter and the Sorcerer’s Stone

51MIi4p2YyL._SX258_BO1,204,203,200_

So in February I had to have surgery and as a gift to myself I decided to buy this book.  The Harry Potter series is my all time favorite series.  It means so much to me, the characters, the story, the adventure, the magic, all of it is perfection to me.  When I found out that they were coming out with an illustrated version of all of the books, I knew I needed to pick it up.

If you’re not familiar with the Harry Potter series, where the heck have you been?!  Harry Potter and the Sorcerer’s Stone is the beginning of what is a magical adventure that follows Harry Potter and his friends Ron Weasley and Hermione Granger, as they fight against the darkest wizard known to the wizarding community, Voldemort, as well as try to get through their years of schooling at Hogwarts.  The first book mainly introduces a lot of the main characters as well as the school.  Harry starts out in the book not knowing anything about witches or wizards and not even knowing that he, himself, is a wizard, as he was raised by his non-magical (muggle) aunt and uncle, who told him that his parents died in an accident.  Really they were murdered by Voldemort, and Harry’s mother died to protect Harry and make sure that he lived.  But then he meets a man named Hagrid, who introduces him to the magical world and tells him that he has been chosen to attend the greatest school for witches and wizards, Hogwarts.  Once at Hogwarts, Harry is sorted into the house of Gryffindor, along with Ron and Hermione and the story goes on explaining much of what Harry doesn’t know about the wizarding world as well as introducing us to a great many other characters.  Things seem great, until Harry and his friends realize that something resides in Hogwarts that somebody very bad is after and they make it their duty to stop that person from getting it.

This is such a wonderful start to the series and this book has always held such a special place in my heart.  I love the illustrations, by Jim Kay, so much, they are just absolutely beautiful.  They really help the magic of the story come to life and are everything that I could have ever hoped for.  I highly recommend this to anyone who is a fan of the Harry Potter series, or anyone who wants to start reading the books, don’t wait, seriously this is one of the greatest series of books that ever existed and they really deserve to be read by all.

About MindyGrimmBlogs

I'm a 20 something enthusiast of all things geek. I live in Pittsburgh, PA and work as a banker during the day. At night I geek out in a variety of different ways whether it be playing board games, video games, seeing movies, reading books, buying comics and collectibles, or anything else that strikes my fancy. This space is going to be a place for me to share my views and reviews and hopefully connect with others who enjoy such things as well. If you would like to contact me for anything regarding reviewing a book or anything like that, my email is mindygrimm19@gmail.com.
This entry was posted in 2016 Reading Challenge, Book Review, Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

