Subscription Box Unboxing–Honest Beauty

Yay another unboxing!  I seriously love getting subscription boxes in the mail because they’re just a gift to myself that for the most part is a surprise.  So this one is a beauty unboxing from Honest Beauty, and I have actually never tried Honest Beauty’s products before and they offer this box which is like a trial of their products basically.  So a little bit of background on Honest Beauty, they specialize in both skincare as well as makeup.  They pride themselves on having a diverse range of products that can match many different skin tones and claim to use the best ingredients to create products that can really work on the varying skin types.  There products are made without parabens, phthalates, formaldehyde carriers, PEGs, MCI/MI, synthetic fragrances, and more things that are bad for your skin.  They use pure, raw ingredients.  For me, I’m extremely pale and have very dry skin that gets oily in the nose area, so for my trial I chose the dry skin option as that is my main skin issue.  This is a free trial that they have on their website, you just have to pay shipping ($5.95) and then you get this box of goodies.  I have not yet tried the products on a regular basis as I just recently got the box so this is more just an unboxing rather then a review of the actual products.

20160507_135746342 (1)

So this is what the box looks like when you first get it in the mail.  It’s just a plain brown box with their name on the sides and also the logo on the opposite sides.  It is made of partially recycled materials so if that’s something that you care about that is great.

20160507_135815250

This is what it looked like when I first opened it up. It has a card in the box that tells you what you received.  It also has another card in it that talks about some of the makeup products that they offer.

20160507_135835142.jpg

They also give you two samples of two of their other products.  The first sample is the Everything Primer Luminous Base.  I am definitely going to try this next time I put on makeup, I love luminous bases for my makeup, anything that adds a little more shine to my kind of dull skin.

20160507_135842957

The second sample are little samples of a couple of their lip glosses.  I really like these colors.

20160510_112742590.jpg

So here is what they look like swatched. I tried to do lip swatches but my phone camera would not focus at all and I did not feel like bringing out the big guns (my DSLR, more like it hasn’t been charged for weeks and I’m too lazy to charge it). The first color is a browny-pink shade called Creative Kiss.  This is actually my signature color in general, just anything pinky-brown I love.  I really like this formula, it’s not too sticky and it’s not sheer, there’s a nice color to it so it could just be worn on its own or on top of a lipstick if you want to mix the colors or something.  The next shade is a true nude shade called Dreamy Kiss.  I’m not big on really nude shades but this is still a pretty color and I think it would be good on top of another color, to maybe tone down a more bold color.  This one actually feels a little smoother on the lips then the Creative Kiss one did, but again not really too sticky and full of color.  The last shade is Inspired Kiss and this is kind of a magenta red/pink shade.  It is very pretty and I think it would look really good on any skin tone.  This one was like the Creative Kiss where it feels a little less smooth then the Dreamy Kiss, but it’s certainly not overly sticky and again is full of color.  Also these were all build-able color, so you could definitely wear them more sheer or put on a couple of extra layers to make them slightly more opaque.

20160507_135851812

So now onto the actual product itself.  This is how it comes in the box.  Again I received the dry skin version.

20160507_135912322.jpg

Here’s a better look at the bag, it’s a plain gray bag that is very sturdy.  It’s a decent size too, would be perfect to slip into your purse.  I like when these makeup subscriptions or trials come in a makeup bag, because I can always use more bags.  I use them not only for makeup but also my art supplies and even for some of my boardgames pieces.

20160507_135940642

So the first thing that we have here is the Beyond Protected Sheer Tint Daily Beauty Fluid.  This has an SPF 30 in it.  It has a little bit of color to it, but it definitely seems to sheer out as you rub it it.  I have not yet tried this on my face though, just on the back of my hand, but it does appear to sheer out enough that it blends in with my skin.  It is a bit thick and appears to have a slight shine to it, it also feels a little oily.  It has kind of a strong smell, that’s kind of herbal, I don’t mind it, but I know for somebody who is sensitive to smell it would probably be a deal-breaker.

20160507_135951075.jpg

The next thing you receive is a Refreshingly Clean Gel Cleanser.  Again this has the same smell as the Tint does, so if you don’t do well with scented stuff, this probably won’t be for you.  This seems to be a very thin gel consistency.

20160507_140007496.jpg

And the final thing that you get is the Younger Face Deep Hydration Cream.  So again, same smell as the other two, this one is not as thick as the Tint but is more a medium thickness like most facial moistures.  It feels very soft and smooth, seems to blend into the skin very easily.  I’m excited for this one because I am always looking for more moisturizers that I love, but honestly I can already tell that my moisturizer that I use regularly, I still like more (the Eau Thermale Avene Hydrance Optimale Hydrating Serum, expensive but AMAZING).

So that is what you get with the kit.  I am quite excited to try these items out on my actual face and see what I think of them.  I am always looking for things to step up my skin care game, if anything though, I really enjoyed those lip glosses, and may actually have to pick one up in the full size.

 

I did pay for this subscription with my own money and the opinions are my own.  If you would like for me to review a subscription box or anything for that matter, I can be contacted at mindygrimm19@gmail.com.

About MindyGrimmBlogs

I'm a 20 something enthusiast of all things geek. I live in Pittsburgh, PA and work as a banker during the day. At night I geek out in a variety of different ways whether it be playing board games, video games, seeing movies, reading books, buying comics and collectibles, or anything else that strikes my fancy. This space is going to be a place for me to share my views and reviews and hopefully connect with others who enjoy such things as well. If you would like to contact me for anything regarding reviewing a book or anything like that, my email is mindygrimm19@gmail.com.
This entry was posted in Subscription Box Unboxing, Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

