Graphic Novel Review–Nailbiter Volume One

NAILBITER_V1_COVER-OCTOBER-PREVIEWS.jpg

THIS. IS. SO. GOOD. I have said this before, but I am trying to get back into reading more comics and graphic novels because it has been quite some time since I have read any and I miss it.  Not only do they often have really cool stories but I love looking at the artwork and seeing different artists styles.  I am also a huge fan of horror and crime and thriller type stuff so when I was browsing for things to pick up I found this little gem and boy, am I glad I did.

Nailbiter first introduces us to the character Edward Warren aka Nailbiter aka Buckaroo Butcher #16, a serial killer who kills people and bites the nails of his victims.  The story takes place in Buckaroo, Oregon, a town which has given birth to sixteen of the worst serial killers in the world.  After Edward’s trial, where he was actually found not guilty by the jury, Eliot Carroll, an officer of the town, has begun investigating the town and what has caused it to be the birthplace of sixteen horrific killers, when he calls his friend Nicholas Finch, an FBI interrogator, to come and help him with part of his investigation.  But when Finch arrives, Carroll is nowhere to be found.  A series of events leads Finch to meeting Sheriff Crane, who has been working with Carroll.  The two begin to investigate his disappearance but bad things begin happening all over and more and more bodies keep turning up.

I love anything that has to do with crime and horror and thrillers and this story is a little bit of all of that.  The story immediately draws you in and makes you wonder what the hell is actually going on in this small town.  The art is really well done and makes the already graphic story even more graphic.  It is all very dark and creates an atmosphere that one really wants when it comes to crime thrillers.  I am very excited to continue on with this story as this book ends in a pretty big cliffhanger.  I would definitely recommend this to anyone who’s interested in anything to do with crime, fictional serial killers, and tense stories.

About MindyGrimmBlogs

I'm a 20 something enthusiast of all things geek. I live in Pittsburgh, PA and work as a banker during the day. At night I geek out in a variety of different ways whether it be playing board games, video games, seeing movies, reading books, buying comics and collectibles, or anything else that strikes my fancy. This space is going to be a place for me to share my views and reviews and hopefully connect with others who enjoy such things as well. If you would like to contact me for anything regarding reviewing a book or anything like that, my email is mindygrimm19@gmail.com.
This entry was posted in Book Review, Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

