Book Review–The Dream Thieves

Dream-Thieves-Cover.jpg

Dear Maggie Stiefvater, girl, how you do it?  This book was phenomenal.  I have heard many times that The Raven Cycle series just continues to get better and better and I loved The Raven Boys and expected great things from The Dream Thieves, but I had no idea this book was going to be as good as it is.  Seriously this may be one of the best books I have read all year, well not may be, it definitely is.

So I don’t want to give too much of a description for this book because I don’t want to spoil the story from the first book, but basically this book picks up right where The Raven Boys left off.  So we have Blue, Gansey, Adam, Ronan, and Noah back again trying to understand and find things that are so complex.  In this book we get to see a lot of Ronan and learn some of his secrets and it is fascinating, but we also get to see a bit more of Adam in his new role after the events of the first novel.  This book has secrets exposed, bittersweet moments, and even more really co0l magic then the first book.

I seriously love this book.  I just finished it last night and I now need the third book in my hands but sadly don’t own it yet!  One of my favorite parts of this book is that we get to see a lot more of Ronan besides what we saw of him in the first book, and we get to understand more of why he is the way he is.  The things that he can do are fascinating and I really love how the story was very much centered around what he was capable of and how it would affect everything that they were working towards.  We also got to see a little more of Blue’s family and the abilities of the different women and that is something that I absolutely loved because each of the psychics have different areas that are their strengths and it is so interesting to see them use those powers and see just what exactly they are capable of.  We also get to see a little more of a personal side from Blue and her feelings towards a certain boy which leads to a bittersweet moment that pretty much tore my heart out.

In The Dream Thieves, we also get to meet a very interesting and different character, Mr. Gray, a hit man.  At first he definitely seems like he is going to be the villain of our story but things aren’t quite as it seems.  His addition to the story was definitely very different and a little surprising, but I couldn’t help but to be rooting for him and actually liking him by the end of the story, even despite a very awful confession that he makes.

Once again the magic in this book is very different from any other magic system that I’ve ever read about and I love it.  I also love that this series so far hasn’t fallen into many of the tropes that we tend to see in YA literature.  When it comes down to it the story is about a group of friends who are searching for something that is leading them down a road they’d never thought they would travel.  I would definitely recommend checking this series out, the first book is really good but this sequel is amazing and if you’re a fan of fantasy, I’m sure you’ll love it.

About MindyGrimmBlogs

I'm a 20 something enthusiast of all things geek. I live in Pittsburgh, PA and work as a banker during the day. At night I geek out in a variety of different ways whether it be playing board games, video games, seeing movies, reading books, buying comics and collectibles, or anything else that strikes my fancy. This space is going to be a place for me to share my views and reviews and hopefully connect with others who enjoy such things as well. If you would like to contact me for anything regarding reviewing a book or anything like that, my email is mindygrimm19@gmail.com.
This entry was posted in Book Review, Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

