Book Review–Harry Potter and the Chamber of Secrets

harry-potter-chamber-of-secrets-childrens-uk

So this one is actually a reread for me.  The Harry Potter series is my all time favorite series and it has actually been quite some time since I have reread the books, but a few months ago my sister was actually in Scotland for a month and bought for me most of the UK editions from Bloomsbury which are absolutely beautiful editions of the books.  She was able to get me books one through five but the bookstore near her didn’t have six or seven so I have to buy those online, but I am still so grateful and was so excited that she was able to get as many of them as she did for me.  So that coupled with the fact that I actually reread Harry Potter and the Philosopher’s Stone earlier this year when I bought the illustrated edition of the book, I decided that I just needed to reread the whole series.

If you’re not familiar with Harry Potter, what the hell are you doing with your life?!  You need to read these books, they are seriously some of the greatest books ever written.  Anyway Chamber of Secrets starts off shortly after Harry’s first year at Hogwarts has ended and he’s back at his horrible Aunt and Uncle’s (his only living blood relatives) home for the summer.  Miserable in this place that has never felt like home to him, he longs to go back to Hogwarts but all of that is nearly jeopardized when an unknown and unexpected visitor, a elf named Dobby, nearly comes and ruins everything for him.  Luckily he is saved by his best friend Ron and Ron’s brothers Fred and George, but things aren’t going to be easy for Harry yet again and as it turns out the strange elf that came to visit Harry, wasn’t quite as crazy as he thought he was.

First of all I just want to say that this particular edition of this book is absolutely gorgeous.  I seriously am in love with the Bloomsbury UK editions of these books.  Not only are they stunning but there is a lot of foreshadowing in the covers.  In this one in particular you can see the Basilisk, the Sword of Gryffindor, Fawkes, a knocked out Ginny, just so many little details that make it so interesting.  I especially love all the green that is in this cover, it’s just so pretty.

Harry Potter and the Chamber of Secrets actually happens to be one of my favorites of the whole series.  I really feel like this is where things really start to go dark and although it certainly doesn’t compare to the later novels like Order of the Phoenix, Half-Blood Prince, or Deathly Hallows, I really feel like this is the book that sets up the rest of the series for the dark and sad yet beautiful and amazing series that this story becomes.  I also love that you get to see so much more of the characters and you learn more not only about Harry but the Weasleys’, Hermione, and many of the other characters like Hagrid, Dumbledore, Malfoy, and others, that really set up plot lines that continue through the other books.  I also really love the mythology within this book.  This whole series deals with mythology that is based on both real mythology as well as mythology that J.K. Rowling created herself, which is really neat.

This book, like the rest of the series holds a very special place in my heart.  It’s hard for me not to read these books without laughing while crying at the same time because I know of the things to come, but this story, the whole story is one that will stick with me for the rest of my life.  These books took a piece of me and yet feel like home at the same time and so if you have not read this series, you have to, because I promise you, it is one of the greatest series that was ever created.  It’s a series that will make you believe in magic, that will make you root for the characters, that will make you want to be a part of the tale.  It truly is magical.

About MindyGrimmBlogs

I'm a 20 something enthusiast of all things geek. I live in Pittsburgh, PA and work as a banker during the day. At night I geek out in a variety of different ways whether it be playing board games, video games, seeing movies, reading books, buying comics and collectibles, or anything else that strikes my fancy. This space is going to be a place for me to share my views and reviews and hopefully connect with others who enjoy such things as well. If you would like to contact me for anything regarding reviewing a book or anything like that, my email is mindygrimm19@gmail.com.
This entry was posted in Book Review, Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Book Review–Harry Potter and the Chamber of Secrets

  1. Jasmina says:

    I’m going through the process of reading all of these for the first time right now! It always excites me to see how many people get exciting even rereading them. It adds to my excitement in reading further 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

