Movie Review–Green Room

So I just want to start off by saying that this film took me by complete surprise.  I honestly did not know too, too much going into this film.  I remember seeing a trailer for this a good while ago and then never seeing anything from it again.  Then all of a sudden, I started hearing about it everywhere, with many saying that it is a fantastic must see for the horror-thriller fans out there and I would really have to agree.

The film starts out with us meeting a small punk rock band who are traveling around, trying to make it by.  They end up getting a gig and interview from this guy, but things fall short and it doesn’t end up being what they had expected.  To make up for it the guy ends up hooking them up with his cousin who works for a venue that’s in the middle of nowhere.  They get there and realize that the people running it and the people there are a bunch of white supremacists.  To make things worse, after their gig, they end up walking into a room where a girl has just been stabbed to death, leading them to getting locked into the room and unable to leave.  The band must then fight their way out by any means possible.

This movie really took me by surprise.  It basically centers around this band as they try to fight against these neo-nazis.  The film is graphic and violent and sinister and I loved every minute of it.  The film is incredibly tense and I sat there dreading what was going to happen next to the characters. The cast for this film was amazing too.  Anton Yelchin (RIP) played in the sort of lead role (there are several actors that are kind of the lead characters) and he does an amazing job.  It really is an awful shame about what happened to him, based on this film as well as others, you could tell he had an amazing career that could have been ahead of him.  Patrick Stewart took me by complete surprise.  He actually plays the leader of the white supremacist group and it was just not something I was prepared for.  When I think of Patrick Stewart, I just immediately think of Professor X or Captain Picard, and to see him in this role was a little surprising, but it just goes to show the range that he has.  Another shout-out should definitely go to Imogene Poots for her performance in this as well.  She played this badass who is originally a part of the neo-nazi group but turns against them when her friend, the girl who was stabbed, is killed and does whatever she can to survive.

One of the things that I really like about this film is the fact that nothing is black and white about it.  All of the characters have their own flaws and even some of the “bad” guys aren’t really all that bad.  The characters just all feel very real and not the typical characters that you see horror films.  It’s a genuine film full of dark and twisted elements and a very tense atmosphere, and I recommend it to anyone who enjoys a good thriller.

About MindyGrimmBlogs

I'm a 20 something enthusiast of all things geek. I live in Pittsburgh, PA and work as a banker during the day. At night I geek out in a variety of different ways whether it be playing board games, video games, seeing movies, reading books, buying comics and collectibles, or anything else that strikes my fancy. This space is going to be a place for me to share my views and reviews and hopefully connect with others who enjoy such things as well. If you would like to contact me for anything regarding reviewing a book or anything like that, my email is mindygrimm19@gmail.com.
This entry was posted in Movie Reviews, Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

